ID22 - High resolution powder diffraction beamline

For extensions starting with 2xxx
or 17xxx: Tel: +33 (0)476 88 +ext
Andy Fitch 2532
Scientist in Charge  
Yves Watier 2967
Junior Scientist  
Christina Drathen 2417
Carlotta Giacobbe 1754
Energy range: 6.0 - 80.0 keV
Beam size:  
  minimum (H x V) 0.05 x 0.05 mm²
  maximum (H x V) 2.0 x 1.0 mm²



In these pages you will find:


ID22 is the new home of the high resolution powder diffraction beamline, previously at ID31. ID22's operational energy range is extended to 6 - 80 keV.

Some history

The ESRF has operated a high resolution powder diffraction beam line with users since 17 May 1996. The original beamline, BM16, was built on a bending magnet, and was transferred in 2002 to an undulator source to exploit the greatly increased flux and collimation available. Thus on 12 March 2002 BM16 measured its last powder diffraction pattern and the diffractometer was transferred to the newly constructed ID31, which performed its first user experiment on 26 June 2002 [1].

After 11.5 years powder diffraction was relocated at ID22, to liberate ID31 for the construction of an ESRF Upgrade Program nanofocus beamline with hutches in the new outer experimental hall. Five months after ID31 closed on 18 December 2013, the first user samples were run on ID22 in May 2014. With the transfer from a low-β sector of the ring to a high-β sector, the brightness increased by a factor 2-3, whilst the provision of the in-vacuum undulator (u23) enhanced the hard-energy performance. Further developements are forseen for the course of 2014/15, including the installations of a transfocator, a new diffractometer and a 2D detector.



[1] Resulting in a paper:  M. Brunelli, J. P. Wright, G. B. M. Vaughan, A. J. Mora, and A. N. Fitch. Angew. Chemie Int. Ed., 42, 2029 (2003).

New address

Physical address
ESRF-The European Synchrotron
71, Avenue des Martyrs
Grenoble, France

Postal address
ESRF-The European Synchrotron
38043 Grenoble Cedex 9

How to get here



Key dates

Proposal deadline:
1st March 2015
LTP deadline:
15 January 2015
Review committees:
23-24 April 2015
22-23 October 2015

Apply for beamtime